mef13

By mef13

Tunnel of vegetation

Is this the dreaded giant hogweed which has been leading to reports of havoc from around the country?
In a week it has lost its flowers — the large saucer-like rosettes of tiny white flowers, but all the other characteristics are there.
Yes it could be mistaken for cow parsley and indeed comes from the same family, but the first time I encountered it around two weeks ago, I remarked on arriving back home that it stood twice my height, maybe even more. Even the stinging nettles along this path were as tall as me.
But it was within a day or two that we were hearing reports from around the country of unwary victims of the weed who had unwittingly brushed against similar plants and come out in blisters.  The experts then told us its sap was toxic and it was this which was leading to victims needing medical treatment. Simply brushing against or touching the plant is enough to release the sap, and can cause serious burns within around 24 hours.
This footpath is only a matter of feet from a river bank, the known generic ground favoured by the weed. And when I first encountered it was like picking my way through a tunnel of vegetation — the weed and nettles. And at that time I was foolishly convinced it was the fertile soil close to the river which had led to the remarkable growth and height of the vegetation.  Subsequently I have heard hogweed being described as the most dangerous plant in Britain.
When I went back, now armed with more information about the actual identity of the weed, much of it had been crushed or broken by cattle which are allowed to roam freely along this footpath and the surrounding area.. That helped confirm my suspicion by the large diameter hollow stalks which were now evident.  And the leaves up close looking more vicious than the leaf of harmless cow parsley.

Fortunately I have heard no reports of anyone becoming victim of the toxic plant around this part of southern England, but I shall certainly be more wary whenever I take to this footpath again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.