There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Toad Whisperers

Meet one of the garden professionals in charge of insect removal on my quiet acre. In this photo, the toad is enjoying a shady nook by the chimney on the north side of my house. You might guess from the photo that this is a large toad, but it's not; it's not much more than an inch long.

It's been a hot and dry two days, and my husband insisted the toad needed a drink. So he filled a plastic peanut butter jar lid with cool, clean water and placed it in the vicinity where we found the toad.

I have also placed a small toad house on the sunny south side of the house near the butterfly garden. I've never seen a toad or frog actually occupy it, but I like the thought that one could, if it wanted to. I wouldn't mind having a toad as a tenant.

A few years ago, I bought a weed whacker to make the weed removal easier and faster. But the first time I used it, I worried about what it might do to a harmless creature, such as a frog or toad, in the grass. That concern led me to abandon the weed whacker; I now do all my weeding by hand, so that no creature shall be harmed. Also, I admit I take some small satisfaction in engaging in hand-to-hand combat with the weeds.

The Chinese believe that a toad is a symbol of good luck. And so, if we offer our best hospitality to this toad (cool water, a toad house, freedom from weed whackers), and the toad is pleased and stays, might he (or she) reward our tokens of hospitality with increased good luck . . . ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.