Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

The Outdoor Gym

I'm taking part in two running events in the coming months. One is the Tough Mudder an 11 mile course with 28 obstacles designed by the special forces, we have to endure going over things, under things, through things, facing icy water, quagmires of mud, nettle stings, barbed wire and electric shocks, also did I mention the mud?

The second is the Speed of Light, a night time run on Arthur's Seat in a specially designed light suit.

Really, the Tough Mudder should scare me more. However, the SOL recently sent a training video. It started out with ominous death music (The Boy thought I was over exaggerating until he watched it himself) then proceeded to basically tell you that you were going to die. If you haven't done your training not only will you let down thousands of people by slowing down but you'll slip on rocks in the wind and rain, fall off the crags or generally meet a terrible, injury filled demise. Followed by more of the death music. (Mum, I promise it's safe really)

Needless to say, the SOL video did the trick and has terrified me in to doing my training. So, this morning The Boy and I got up and headed down the canal to try and find the Outdoor Gym. I went on the bike and The Boy ran. I did however get some running in as I alternated a stint on each of the machines with a run to the kids' play park and back. I'm loving the assisted pull up bar. Using that I might actually get to the point where I can do a pull up on a stationary bar. I found however that I needed physical assistance with the shoulder press as it was just too heavy for me to push up on my own.

Here's a shot of The Boy on the leg press.

In other news:

I know I've been really lazy with uploading. I promise to try harder and also to get my previous blips uploaded and up to date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.