Peahen

By Peahen

Give a girl the right shoes...

A shiny new Canon 50mm 1.8 STM lens arrived for me today, thanks to the Mister :) I think you all know how much I love the photos from my Mark 2 50mm, but it's a real trial to use especially once the light starts to fail. I've only tried the new one in daylight so far but it's much more predictable, as well as having a usable manual focus ring. The blip is a shot of a birthday card from a friend, taken wide open at 1.8. I think I'm going to have some fun with this - all the shoes are in focus on the actual card! Plus, the lens doesn't rattle, which is an improvement on my Mark 2 (I may have worn it out, it is my child photography lens of choice).

Talking of fun, the girl had a "Healthy body, healthy mind" day at school today, when she got to try several different sports and activities. As expected, she loved the martial arts, as unexpected she thoroughly enjoyed the army assault course (set up and managed by the actual British Army, no less), and she was pretty unimpressed by rounders ("I was stumped and the ball hit me in the stomach. They're really hard balls, Mummy.") I believe there was Zumba dance and hip-hop too, but she hasn't mentioned those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.