I'm not out to steal your soul!

In some cultures, people do not like to be photographed as they believe the camera steals their soul. This maybe due to voodoo using the likeness of a person to cast spells against them. Arthur C Clarke said that advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic (I can't remember the exact quote, but that's the gist!) so I guess that is the idea behind it!

I'm sure that when insects see me and my camera they have the same idea! I don't even know how they can be aware of my presence, but they seem to fly away as soon as I'm near enough to photograph them!

I did manage to get a couple of shots of bees whilst on a walk down Water Rail Way, alongside the river earlier today. In this shot I like the way the light caught the wings of this bumble bee. 

It was a massive bee! One of the biggest I ever saw. And as it was windy I had to hold the buddleia still while I took the photo!

I'll include a shot of another smaller bee too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.