Pretty Flowers

The night was wet and windy but it had calmed down when I got up. We needed to do a few jobs, the car needed petrol, we wanted some strawberries and raspberries from the farm shop and the birds had eaten all the food and the cheapest place is in Dingwall. So I packed a picnic and off we went. I wanted to stop at the wildflowers on the way but there was a car to close behind so we could nt stop.
We went to Loch Killean and had our picnic in the car while the rain cleared. We walked down to the Loch which had plenty of ducks with young, including coot, golden eye, tufted and slavonian , little and , I think, red necked grebe. The two swans were there but no cygnets. House martins swopped across the top of the water.
The banks were lined with Sweet Cicely with the sweet smell of aniseed wafting in the air. Forget me knots were still in bloom at the waters edge. The wild roses were out and large areas of ragged robin were dotted with bog cotton grass and verbena. There were lots of Marsh Orchids too. We sat on the new bench and enjoyed the view.
On the way back we managed to stop at the wildflowers in Munlochy. They are beautiful and different from a few weeks ago as now the Corn Marigolds are out too.
My extra photo is of a glove someone had lost, I liked the colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.