a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Beeswing

I was nineteen when I came to town, they called it the Summer of Love
They were burning babies, burning flags. The hawks against the doves
I took a job in the steamie down on Cauldrum Street
And I fell in love with a laundry girl who was working next to me
 
Oh she was a rare thing, fine as a bee's wing
So fine a breath of wind might blow her away
She was a lost child, oh she was running wild
She said "As long as there's no price on love, I'll stay.
And you wouldn't want me any other way"
 
Richard Thompson – Beeswing


I couldn’t resist uploading this shot – I know that it is very similar to an earlier blip of mine, but it gives me the chance to reference Richard Thompson’s brilliant song Beeswing, which I love.  Its also one of those "gotcha" moments that you are amazed at when they are lucky enough to come off.


I took several shots of bees, butterflies and grasshoppers this evening, but haven’t had the time to deal with them yet, so I will upload the good ones to my Flickr account tomorrow.  There’s no time to deal with them now, as we are due to attend a good friend’s 60th birthday party shortly this evening.  Which means that I am also going to have to beg your collective indulgence over responding to your comments on yesterday’s flower Friday shot, and visiting your journals.  Still, that will be a nice thing for me to do tomorrow, as its going to rain all day apparently.  I am looking forward to seeing what you have all been up to already :-)
 
... and the reason for my not having any time today, is that I’ve been out on my road bike for a large part of today, training for something called La Lapabie, which is a cycling event I signed up to some time ago with a group of my friends.  It takes place in the first week of September and involves 157km of riding and total elevation gain of 3,200m in the Pyrenees.  I only managed 130km and 2,300m of climbing today but I’m reasonably confident I should be fit enough if I can keep training.  Unfortunately I also now have to start watching my diet quite carefully too.  I’ve managed to trim off about 5 pounds in the last few months but need to loose about the same again to get back to my ideal cycling wheight.  The less you wheigh, the less you have to cart up the mountains with you....    :-/
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.