Spot

This is my Mum's oldest cat, he's a canny beast. He has liver problems and has to given tablets every day, but he never complains. I took the picture with an app and I didn't think it had saved but it did.

Wee Daisy hasn't had a good day today. This morning she came running into the living room with something in her mouth. I went to check to see if it was a leaf or twig as usual and discovered that it was a petal from my neighbour's Tiger Lily. I knew that the pollen from lilies is not good for cats so after taking the petal away from Daisy, I did a quick google search, only to discover that every part of the plant is dangerous and can be fatal.

The website advised to seek veterinary advice as soon as possible so I took her straight up to the vet with the petal, minus the wee bit she had managed to eat before I got to her. The vet explained that it's not known why lilies are so toxic to cats but they attack the kidneys so to be on the safe side she kept Daisy in and she is to be on a drip for 24 - 36 hours to flush out her kidneys.

When I phoned at four o'clock Daisy was doing fine, it hadn't been easy to get the drip in her as she is such a live wire but they were able to distract her with food, treats, and a toy. They will phone me with another update tomorrow and there is now a nice hydrangea where the lilies used to be next door!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.