Watchful Karuhiruhi

Woke up this morning just in time to see the sun still golden and briefly between the horizon and the lowest layer of cloud. I was able to get one photo, and have put that in the extras. 

Just before mid day I went down to the southend of Snells Beach looking to see if there were more birds than I saw yesterday afternoon. There were plenty. At least a dozen kotare (kingfishers), more than that number of poaka (pied stilts), the ubiquitous gulls, herons and oystercatchers. 

Also kawau paka (little pied shag), kawau tui (little black shag), and this karuhiruhi (pied shag). If I'd been using film, I would have used up two rolls; two thirds not worth a second look!! 

I had gone with the long lens on, and was able to get close to the karuhiruhi on this occasion; it had taken flight earlier, and appeared more tolerant of my presence . 

Waiting for the boys to leave Fiji with the other grandparents to return home. They were meant to be home before this; but due to overbooking they were put on a later flight, which is now delayed indefinitely due to engineering requirements. An anxious wait for the all clear and an estimated time of arrival. It will be after midnight almost certainly. Not the best way to start the next school term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.