Bagels

Best Ugly is a cafe. But only partly. Mostly it is where the Best Ugly bagels are made in the Montreal style, using a manuka wood fired oven. Bagels can be bought to eat here with coffee; black or white according to the menu board shown on their web page. Or you can take them away. They add various toppings which would turn their bagels into a fairly substantial meal, or so it seems.

I took this photo from Wellesley Street, just around the corner from Nelson Street, during my run this morning. My attention was caught by the Police car, and then I noticed the two cycles against the wall, and their riders sitting at a bench. It made an appealing picture. Added to when a couple sauntered in and the man began a conversation with the cyclists.

I found the website for Best Ugly and gained a little info which added to making this my blip for today. Described as being in a converted workshop, Best Ugly is one of the businesses in a redevelopment of the City Works Depot. 

The extra photo today is a shot of a juvenile herring gull (karoro) at dusk when I went for a walk on the beach after coming north late in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.