Wicked treat

Another interesting day out with the South Lincolnshire Flora Group, recording around Witham-on-the-Hill. At first the area didn't seem that promising, but as usual we found some very interesting species, the most notable of which was a small population of Rye Brome Bromus secalinus, which is a much declined arable weed.

We dispersed in the early afternoon, and I headed to a nearby nursery, mostly for a comfort break, but I couldn't resist having a wander round. It's always a pleasure to visit, as it's a proper family-run nursery where all the focus is on the plants, which include many species not found in the bog-standard garden centres. So did I come away empty-handed? Of course not - I succumbed to the beauty of this Persian Everlasting Pea Lathyrus grandiflorus, as well as a few small perennials for the raised bed. After a busy week I felt I needed a treat, and it was probably better for me than chocolate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.