Ben's Bye Bye BBQ

The Barcelona Bus arrived home 5 hours early today - after all the anxt he would have been home in time after all.  However, I have no regrets about the decision to fly him home early.  A five hour margin of error eh?  Imagine if it had been the other way around?

So another day of checking, washing and packing, transferring money and taking of the first malaria tablet.  But now I think he's ready for the 5.30am start tomorrow morning .   I've tied one of my scarves to his rucksack so it is easily identifiable at the airport.  As a baby he used to hold one close to his face and stroke it as a comfort when he went to sleep and it will comfort 'me' to think of him having that little bit of home with him.  I will REALLY miss him.

We decided on a steak BBQ this evening which was delicious and the weather was perfect.  This is my blip since this is the last time we'll all eat together for a month, and I don't suppose Ben will be eating steak in Cambodia.

Thanks to all that have supported him in his fundraising and if anyone sees me looking sad - remind me what a brilliant time I had travelling the world, and that MY parents had to deal with 'no news is good news' since mobile phones were not invented then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.