If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

St Andrew's Church Greystoke

We were down in the churchyard today and as often happens I hadn't taken a blip.  So as we wandered round the churchyard I took a number of shots of various things.

This shot of the south door which isn't the door we use today appealed.  Partly I suppose because it is the side of the church least seen (well close up at least).  The door and porch are larger than the currently used one on the north side.  I was once told that it was becuase when the church was built the village was to the south and east of the church.  Now it is to the north and west.  I am not sure of any evidence to back up this theory.  However the south entrance is certainly on a grander scale and this path leads..........  nowhere!   It ends at countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.