Home

Angie off early to the 2 monthly flea market in Sontheim - a highlight for her. I set off with the dogs planning to walk over and have a look around and get a Blip. Turned out to be too hot for Flash so we cut that. Did get a photo of two storks on a stubble field but not that good. No matter, I had a guaranteed Blip in the afternoon as there was an exhibition in the village school about the history of the village organised by the parish chronicler.

Back home doing this and that amongst others working on trying to find out more on the above watercolour. I suspect most will recognise it straight away as being East Anglia. Here the 1/3rd rule doesn't apply - East Anglia is simply 2/3rds sky. The date of 74 is 1974 and I am sure it was done by a hobby painter family friend who gave it to my parents and I vaguely think he lived somewhere on the Suffolk coast. However, I can't make out the signature at all. The closer you get, the less discernable it becomes.

I did the odd sail in the early '70s between Blakeney (Norfolk) and Orford (Suffolk) but my memory is clearly slipping away as I can't place the painting although that may be more due to the beer and oysters from the Orford pub.

Will be interesting to see if I can find out more as I have a plan to give it to someone who played an important part in my life back in 1974-76 and is a Norfolk/Suffolk stalwart.

PS - I fell asleep on the sofa after a late lunch and when awake didn't have the wherewithal to get to the exhibition. I think its open next Sunday again so will try a morning visit.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.