one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

Here's another one. OK, I didn't think it would be an easy one at first, but when I started to identify it, I remembered I had done this long time ago. It's an Ash. So I thought it would be easy from now on. I like wood and even have a little wood lathe in the garage and it appears that Ash is a great wood for turning. It means I have to chop it first though..... Unfortunately, upon doing some further research, it turned out not to be so easy to determine which ash this is. Pictures and descriptions are all different from this one and it's got no leaves to help me any further at the moment. I would have thought Fraxinus nigra (Black ash), but this is said to flower in spring just before the leaves appear. Ours is flowering right now in the middle of winter, if not before the middle of winter. What's the middle of winter anyway?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.