one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

I've been struggling to keep up with uploading one blip a day as you may have noticed. Its been harder than I expected to identify the species in the back yard. Anything is possible of course, but there's more to life than photography. And then when I DID want to upload one (catching up, because I had taken the photos but not uploaded them), it didn't work, so I thought I had waited too long and got even more disillusioned. Anyway, tonight I thought I'd give it another try, uploading a what I thought was a simple one again, but I have to make a bit of a guess again. Its genus name is Hydrocotyle, but there are ten species listed in the Flora of New Zealand and this, I think, isn't one of them. I remember it very well from my many swamp  and dune expeditions as a child, but that would have been the vulgaris species.  Descriptions on the internet aren't that conclusive either,  and this one grows in our backyard near the back-door. Not exactly swampy or sandy, but shady most of the times and in the path of the run-off when we do get a lot off rain. I'm still guessing it is this species name is vulgaris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.