Metellina segmentata

I think this slightly fat and hairy little creature is a common orb weaver spider. Many of you will probably be disgusted by it but I think it's rather beautiful.

A very contrasting day to yesterday in Richmond Park - what a difference a little sunshine makes! I saw slightly fewer deer today but far more birdlife and almost too many insects and spiders. This led to a long and tortured selection process for my blip hence the excess of extra shots. I've included two small scale predator and prey shots, one features what I think is a crab spider and an unfortunate hover fly and the other is of a funnel web spider with a partially dismembered grasshopper. I would have used the lily full of hover flies as my main shot simply for the colours but it lacks a complete sharp fly and I lack the necessary skills to come up with a creative edit/crop. Finally I've included the caption contest shot of the large (painted lady?) and small  (skipper) butterflies.

If you have the time please take a quick look at my shot from this time last year which is of a truly extraordinary monkey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.