Tiny Tuesday : : Nature's Lace

This stuff grows on our oak trees and despite it's delicate lace like appearance, it is tough as nails. I learned from my cursory research only what it is not. It is not lichen or Spanish Moss, although we have lots of those too. I think it is fascinating, and have tried photographing it many times before, but today, I brought it  inside and put it on OilMan's puzzle table which makes a good white background, but the best part is that his task light, a row of six little LED lights created wonderful shadows.

I took hundreds of pictures and finally managed to narrow it down to just two. Both are the same little piece but produced such different images and shadows I just couldn't decide, so I put the other one in the extras. Thanks to Walking Wombat for organizing this challenge and to Beckett for judging this week.

I have been up to my eyeballs, literally, today attaching little birds to my lichen covered oak branch on the front porch. Since the whole thing was inspired by Dana, I asked her to come over and check it out. She did, and promptly found a bigger, more substantial branch. I unwired all the birds I had just painstakingly wired onto it while she hung the new branch and birdhouse. Then we rewired all the little birds. She was right…her branch looks better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.