dailykeith

By dailykeith

Bienvenido a Cornwall

It's a bit of a cheeky title, but Cudillero, on Spain's north coast, reminded me strongly of Cadgwith or Boscastle.

Unfortunately, just like those Cornish hotspots, it's a magnet for hundreds of cars, which have to negotiate a narrow, twisting lane down to the harbour.

Of course, I, too, was among the tourist hordes, so I can't protest too much. However, I reached Cudillero by train and then a mile-long walk from the station. A lovely walk it was, too.

The train journey was interesting. There was the almost apocalyptic industrial landscape west of Gijon, with its massive pipelines, huge factories, derelict buildings, towering chimneys and the monotone of decay.

By contrast, some of the rural scenery further west was a joy. I particularly loved seeing many examples of traditional grain stores on their stone stilts and some old-fashioned haystacks.

Tomorrow we continue our travels with a short stay in Oviedo, capital of the Asturias region.


This was my third attempt at writing this entry. In my opinion it's far too easy to lose your jottings on Blipfoto when using the iPhone app - I can't understand why there isn't an automatic save built in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.