dailykeith

By dailykeith

Another gem

Gosh, I've reached a Blip landmark at last. I've been a member for goodness knows how long, but it's been a staccato existence and only now have I chalked up 365 entries.

I'm pleased the milestone has been reached while I'm enjoying my favourite country - Spain. I think my most enthusiastic Blip spells have come when recording my Spanish experiences.

I visited Spain for the first time as recently as 2007, but my wife and I have returned repeatedly since then.

I've been totting things up and with today's arrival in Oviedo I have had rooms in 12 cities (some on more than one occasion): Madrid, Seville, Cadiz, Malaga, Granada, Valencia, Barcelona, Bilbao, Gijon, Santander, Palma de Mallorca and now Oviedo. There are also other cities I've visited but not stayed in, such as Córdoba and Burgos.

I've never set foot in Oviedo before, but it's almost as though someone was saving the best till last! What a delightful city it is - wonderful architecture, a large park at the heart of the city centre, great wide shopping streets, spectacular scenery etc etc. It's an instant hit with me. My wife is pictured by the park entrance.

To be honest, I haven't been disappointed with a single one of those 12 cities mentioned and I'd be hard-pressed to name a favourite. But if I had to pick one to actually live in, I think I might opt for Malaga. It has a great city centre and lovely beaches, it is culturally very rich and it has excellent transport links, including an airport. It also has decent weather all year round.

So if I win a prize for 365 Blip entries, please let it be a year's stay in Malaga. I'll head there tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.