Big Rock Garden

Today I spent an hour this morning and another hour this afternoon in Big Rock Garden. This view shows one of my favorite sculptures in this beautiful park. Take a look at the large version.

Now that the hummingbird baby is getting so large I feel I should film him as often as I can before he leaves the nest. Once he goes, he won't come back. Today he was up on the edge of the nest practicing flapping his wings. He rocked forward and back and almost lost his balance. But he didn't. His feathers are almost in. You can see the russet color in his back and under his wings. Now I am sure he is a Rufous and not an Annas. I think it is a "he" and not a "she" because of the amount of detail he has in his throat feathers. The more time I spend with him the more I fall in love. He is just plain adorable. I'll miss him when he finally flies from the nest which I do think will be soon.

I used the footage from the afternoon visit when he was much more active to make today's video. You can see some photos from the video I made and more pictures of Big Rock Garden at Chaikins of Bellingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.