Nora Berghoff

By nberghoff

Black Goodness

I am a tea addict. Black tea, that is. I never drink coffee, but sustain myself on strong cups of black tea throughout the day.
Not your store-brand tea bag variety (that will do in an emergency, but not for true enjoyment).

Think beautifully rolled whole tea leaves that unfold when hot water hits them. Then they release that wonderful rich color and scent....

Aaaah, add some rock sugar and you have goodness in a cup.

I used to live in Northern Germany, including East Frisia, an area that is second only to Great Britain in world-wide per-capita tea consumption, where it is not hard at all to find good tea.
Moving to Texas made this a whole lot harder, so I had to resort to ordering my tea online. There are a couple of good websites that have a great assortment of black teas. I love ordering samples of new teas and trying them - it is like tasting a new red wine :-)

I just got a shipment in with one of my favorites - "Golden Monkey", and 6 new ones to taste!
Heaven!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.