Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Rodent and The Rat

After being in the house most of the day busy doing not a lot, I decided to go and take a blip photo, so took a drive to St Woolos Cathedral, Newport. The front was covered in scaffold which I thought would be gone by now as it's been well over a year. A Cathedral covered in scaffolding didn't appeal so I decided on Belle Vue Park very close by.

As I drove into the park I could see a both bowling greens were being used and most were dressed in white. I thought I might grab and appealing photo so walked to the gate and stood watching, camera around my neck. An elderly man came and opened the gate and invited me in to take some photo's, only asking that if they were bowling towards me, not to move as it may put them off. I agreed and took a few photo's much to the amusement and humerous remarks of some.

After ten minutes I thought I'd look in on the other bowling green to the side of their communal building. They were walking off for half time refreshments. A bloke about 40years (loads younger than most there) approached me and in a menacing manner asked where I was from (meaning agency or whatever) and I jokingly said "Newport".
         "Well, you can't just come in here and take photo's"
           I said "Why not? and anyway, one of the chaps on the other green invited me in"
           "I don't care. I know who it was. You can't just take photo's"
            I said "Of course I can, it's a public place and in any case I asked"
            "You can't just just take photo's"
            By this time I was well determined to stand my ground to his aggressive manner and thought it might become physical.
            I said "Of course I can take photo's in a public place. I do it all the time, and if you don't believe me 'google it'. In any case I did ask permission"  and began walking away.
            Backing down somewhat "Well I don't think you can"
            Me, in a final statement "Well, I'm telling you I can!"

He didn't strike me as a nice bloke. Out of nearly 50 or 60 players he was the only one with an attitude. The rat in the pack!

I walked out of the bowling green into the main park, only to see a number of squirrels running around. I stopped to photograph them, expecting them to run away on seeing me but this one kept coming closer and closer until he was about a metre away! My rodent friend is in the blip photo - certainly not a tree rat! Nice and friendly. I think someone can learn from him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.