Pepper Proud!

Dear Diary,

I have been picking cherry tomatoes for about a week now but I am especially proud of the peppers in my greenhouse.  This "banana" variety is supposed to turn red more quickly than bell peppers.  I have two bell plants and they are loaded with little peppers too.  My friends point out, quite rightly, that it would be a lot easier and cheaper to go to store and buy them but it is fun to see them growing close up, day by day.

I did buy a red pepper in the grocery store recently and when I got home I noticed that the little sticker on it said, "Product of Holland".  Holland!  It had come all the way from Holland!  Talk about costly in so many ways.  I try to buy "local" whenever I can and now that people's gardens are producing I will be getting lots of fresh, locally grown veggies.

But I am still very proud of my few pepper plants.  The radishes, for some reason, were a dismal failure.  Root crops don't do all that well in containers I guess.  So pardon me while I boast about my tiny crop of peppers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.