The Butterfly

Dear Diary,

It seems the garden is alive with butterflies right now.  I think they are very attracted to this type of flower which allows a good landing pad for them.  These flowers, which I planted over 15 years ago and which come back faithfully every year, are a magnet for these tiny works of art.  I wish I could remember the plants name.

The light was especially favorable for photographing the butterfly.  Softly back lighted and with the dark background, the wings seem to glow.  It reminded me of stain glass windows which look dull and flat from the outside but inside, with sunlight illuminating them, they seem to radiate color.

I've always wondered if whoever it was that invented the idea of a stain glass window was inspired by butterfly wings.  Perhaps.


Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you. 

Nathaniel Hawthorne

At first I chased the butterfly from flower to flower trying to photograph it but by the time I focused the lens it was gone again.  So I followed Hawthorne's advice and just sat quietly, focused on one flower, and in time it came to me.  Pure happiness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.