A Moment of Common Enchantment...

Dear Diary,

It seems much cooler this morning after our thunderstorms last night and I stepped out onto the back porch to savor the fresh air.  The steam was rising off Auntie's tree and the water droplets were sparkling like tiny jewels on its leaves.  I caught sight of a spider web glistening in the sun about 20 feet off the ground.  The light had caught it just right and I knew that if I could capture the effect it would be my post today.

I call these brief encounters moments of common enchantment.  They are brief and easily overlooked.  The sunlight, raindrops and smoke rising simply added to the experience.  It was really quite lovely. 

Then I heard it, the loud buzzing right above my head.  Apparently, some wasps have built a rather large hive under the eaves.  I never noticed it.  Sigh...I will have to evacuate them because they are too close for comfort.  Not something I look forward to doing but it must be done.

This afternoon I will give my talk on the year I spent photographing the pond down the street from me and I am grateful that I am not doubled over in pain.  Small steps but my back is returning to normal slowly but surely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.