The Burn Out,

It was my turn at volunteering at the church today. The workmen were still doing work just outside on the by-pass. Visitors usually come in through the side door, but Kevin decided today, to open the big main door ,as it usually encourages  more visitors in. We were sitting down having a cup of tea, when there was a terrible noise and the church filled up with  acrid smoke, which was coming from the road works outside. Kevin went out to investigate, and came back in ,and said for me to go and take a look. I took my camera, and could see they were burning the paint road signs off. I started to take some photos, and the foreman came over and asked me what I was doing. The noise was deafening, so we walked a bit further away, and I explained  all about blip. He seemed happy with that, and told me that they were finished with this side of the   dual carriage way, and were going to start on the other side tomorrow.  The noise and fumes didn't last very long, and peace was restored, and i got my blip. We didn't get many visitors in today, but the time flew by, and I did enjoy my time at the church. 
PS. the gadget the guy is burning the paint off with, is called a thermal lance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.