South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

A journey of nostalgia

A group from church visited the Amberley Heritage Centre today. It was a very interesting place with lots of "Oh, I remember that!" moments. Our son (in this photo) hadn't realised that hubby and I hadn't had telephones in our parents' houses until the early sixties and had had to go and use telephone boxes prior to that. They had telephones of all shapes and sizes on display.

We had a ride on the small train on one of the many railway lines that used to carry lime from the kilns, a photo of which you can see in the extras. Also in extras is a photo of the mine that was filmed in the "Live and Let Die" Bond film. Grace Jones was featured propelling herself along the railway on one of those handcart things (I expect they have a proper name, but I don't know it!). I wanted to put more photos in extras, but it wouldn't let me! The day finished with a cream tea :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.