The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Oh dear ...

As I was watching TV in the evening I heard an almighty bang and a cry from upstairs.

I rushed up, and there was mum sprawled on the floor - her head *just* touching the door frame, but miraculously a hair's breadth from actually concussing her.

So I dialled 999

When they ambulance men came to the house they had suspected a dislocation as there seemed to be a HUGE protrusion at the side of mum's hip.

After being initially assessed in A&E admissions they felt it was more likely to be a fracture.

After the X ray they discovered neither - in theory mum was fine and I was to take her home.

I felt rather daunted and unconvinced about the prospect of getting an extremely distressed 88 year old from a trolley back to my van which was parked hundreds of yards away (At 1 am) Mum was in a nightie and had no clothes/shoes/zimmer frame ...

And then they tried to get her to her feet and she was barely able to take her weight on them and just couldn't balance.

I said there was no way I was taking her home in that condition at that time of night - when I got home, what was I supposed to do with her? She couldn't climb the stairs to bed, so I'd have to bring the bed downstairs somehow .. And her poor hip was the size of a football ..

So in the end they agreed to admit her to the assessment ward and I pottered home to bed.

Poor mum. Poor me.

Here's The Handsome Stranger grooming a baby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.