The Geeky Christian

By s90man

A Day Out to Amberley

We had a church outing to Amberley Chalk Pits Museum today! I wasn't planning on going at all but I felt so much better these last couple of days that I decided to go and I'm glad I did! I went here a few times when I was smaller but they've improved a lot of things. Some of the museum stuff is very good now. The reality of telecommunication in the 50s and 60s during my parent's childhoods hadn't entirely sunk in for me until today! One of the Friday Club children came along too as her grandmother was part of the trip, so that was nice, she really enjoyed it. No-one enjoyed it more than Dad though, rail geek that he is! Oh the endless theories about how all the various mine cart tracks fit together, and the revelation that it connected to the main line as well!

We had good weather, not too hot, very polleny though, my eyes were sore as heck in the evening! Lots of wildflowers and freshly cut crop fields nearby.

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.