Straight Edge

Aaron, the youngster I work with turned 18 recently and within days got his first tattoo. Today he got his second and third. This identifies him a being Straight Edge, something I must confess I had never heard of till I met him. To live a lifestyle without drinking, smoking and taking drugs is something I wouldn't have been able to contemplate when I was a teenager. He really is a likable young fellow though and at 18 seems to have his head screwed on with the possible exception of tattoos.

As I said, this is one of two tats he got today. The other one is a time bomb and fuse behind and below his ear. The problem is that he doesn't like the bomb at all. Apparently the tattooist used a bit of artistic lisence and didn't follow the sample drawing. Aaron got to work and was quickly on the phone to places to see if he could get it removed. It will be interesting to see how he goes.

I don't have a huge amount of sympathy. Tattoos are permanent art and a lot of thought should be given to size, location and of course who is going to do it. Poor kid. I hope it works out for him. At least he likes this one.

Off to do a bit of father-in-law sitting tonight. I can think of better things to do although it does force me to relax and usually watch a movie.

The Melbourne Cup has been run and won for another year. As usual I backed the wrong horse. That is why I don't gamble. I never win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.