Wolfe Island . . . rural and futuristic

Whenever I take a walk down 3rd Line Rd, I have to remind myself that yes, I am on rural Wolfe Island. The wind turbines that populate the fields along that road look anything but rural! When I first visited here 10 years ago the wind turbines were non existent; they only became operational in 2009. You can read more about them here. There are 86 turbines on the island now and many are located directly behind the family property. 

I find it a little sci-fi feeling to see these huge wind turbines in the fields along with rolls of hay, horses and even cows! (see extra photos) I've kind of gotten used to it now, 6 years later but there still is an adjustment period for me each year. They seem a bit out of place. 

On the ieso site I learned that "A major component that truly sets Wolfe Island apart from other wind installations in North America is the submarine cable used to transmit power from the Island to the mainland.  It is 7.8 km long and lies on the bed of Lake Ontario in the Lower Gap between the Island and the City of Kingston."

In other news, our dear friend Garth came by to see us today and spend the night! He has a cottage on another one of the Thousand Islands, Hill Island. There is an extra photo of Garth & Steve taking off to visit Horseshoe Island in Buzzy, a boat that has been in Steve's family for years. When we first got here it would not start . .. .oh no! But steve was able to get a replacement part and get the motor running again, yay :0) It is great to see Garth again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.