Flickers on the Deck

I had a hard time choosing my photo today. I had three sets of photos to choose from. The birds were performing beautifully this morning and I had many photos to choose from. I picked this one even though one flicker is right in front of another, because I wanted you all to see what her wings look like fully extended. This is a Red Shafted Northern Flicker showing just how beautiful a bird she is. There were several other photos I really liked. Even the hummingbirds got into the action and there was a photo of Arvin looking out the window at one, but that didn't quite live up to this either. I'll post a couple of the other photos I took in the extra photo section. I should mention that the sparring partners in these photos are European Starlings. There was one dark and one very light, a kind I had never seen before.

After breakfast we went to the Farmer's Market and I took a bunch of photos there, several of which I really liked. I'll have to save those for another medium because veggies are pretty available right now to photograph and generally Flickers aren't. Although this morning they were...

Then in the afternoon my brother Dave and his wife Nora came up and we all went to the Steampunk Festival in Fairhaven. There were lots of really cool costumes there and I got a few nifty photos but none quite up to this one. So here is a Red Shafted Northern Flicker for your enjoyment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.