Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Panorama

I took this pano with my iPhone this morning at about 7:15 AM. The Husband had driven me, with the lawnmower, up to the top of the hill where we exit the hayfield when we go on our walks. He was on his way into town. My job was to mow the path along the edge of the field down to the bottom where we enter the woods briefly before crossing a tiny creek and exiting at the bottom of the hill, at our own driveway. This was the third time I've done this in the past month. It's basically impossible to use the hayfield for the beginning of the walk without mowing a path - the hay and weeds get so high and are almost always wet with dew. To say nothing of ticks... Anyway. Just before I started up the mower I looked at the view and thought "Oh! Look at that!" and shot this pano. I like the mist hanging in the low places. The tallest, closest mountain is called Buck Mountain, and it just sort of sits out there all alone - nowhere near any proper mountain range. To get to our place you turn left and follow around the edge of the field in the general direction of Buck Mountain (or "Mount Buck" as I like to call it). After I and the lawnmower reached the bottom, I mowed the area down where our driveway emerges. I finished at about 8:30, before it got too hot for such nonsense. Putting aside the heat - and the danger at this point in the summer of finding a yellow jacket nest (wasps) in the ground - I like mowing. For one thing, I think of it as excercise - which it absolutely is. And it looks lovely when you've finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.