From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Hiding in the Bushes

Mom has always been fond of frogs. Ornamental ones, I must stress. I think she'd scream the place down if a live frog came hopping towards her one day. (She even flinches when I start TOAD up on my laptop. TOAD is a testing and development tool mainly used on Oracle. It starts with a big toad noise - RIBBIT!) There were always plastic, wooden and pottery frogs all over the house, on window sills and shelves where you often didn't notice them. Dad bought her frogs whenever he came across them and so did I!

I once bought an ornament in the Nutcracker in Stratford Upon Avon. There are at least two of these Christmas shops in Edinburgh I discovered years later. Anyway, mom was delighted when I gave it to her on a visit to Ayr one Christmas. It was three glittery frogs in a dancing pose conducted by a cheery Father Christmas. Mom loved it. Dad hated it! He said it was the tackiest most awful thing he'd ever seen. It wasn't that bad.

Sadly, I saw it at the back of a cupboard when I was there last week along with another load of frogs collected over the years. I asked mom about it and she said she didn't want to look at them and thought it was about time she grew up. What could I say?

I have two stone frogs in my garden here in Brum. This one is in the bushes on an old garden table under the living room window. The colour has worn off but in this weird mid evening glow, he doesn't look too bad, just a bit forlorn.

Sob! Enough of this nonsense! I dedicate my blip today and the accompanying tune which will make you smile to discarded frogs everywhere. I am thinking of you!

It's not easy being green

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.