Third in Class

Basil and I arrived at the Dogs Trust Fun Day at Wymeswold just as the heavens opened. I put his raincoat on him  and donned mine, but we got drenched simply walking from the car to the entry gate.

We'd gone to hand over a presentation on behalf of my friend Hayley who was sponsoring the Best in Show prize. Which meant we had to stay until the end.

As you can see, Basil was thoroughly disgusted with the turn in the weather and being forced to walk and sit on wet grass. Even though we finally found some shelter at the bar. Note that he has his back to the rain.

We'd gone early to enter the 'Dog Most Like His Owner' class. There were only six entrants so everyone got a rosette. Basil came third, because, as the judge said, we both looked bedraggled.

To my horror, there was no tea tent, so there was nowhere to shelter for the next 3-4 hours - except for the bar and a baked potato gazebo.

I did buy plants.

Fortunately, organisers hastened the classes, and called the show to a halt shortly after 3 pm because of the weather. I made the presentation while someone held Basil's lead. I was glad the prize went to a brother and sister who were so keen and enthusiastic.

I was so shattered on our return home, I went to bed for the rest of the day. Basil kept running through the house with his new 'Ratty' toy. It's soft and shaky, and he can hold it by its ears and tail.

No photo posted yet for yesterday. I was photographing a wedding so have to wait for my photos to be returned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.