Carrying a torch

I was finishing up work around 6pm when people started talking about the Olympic torch relay on Facebook. I checked the times and it was due at the Royal Mile around 7pm so I thought what the hell, might as well be part of a little bit of history.

The Royal Mile was rammed of course but I got a spot behind some short people so that was quite handy. Everyone was excited, all waving flags and streamers. It was a nice atmosphere and even better when the torch bearer arrived.

I think this is Lesley Forrest, carrying the torch up to Edinburgh Castle. She looked so proud, and everyone was shouting and cheering and waving. It was a lovely occasion.

All over in a flash, of course.

I took better photos than this, but I liked this one because it shows the scale of the thing, with everyone desperate to wave to the torch bearer and get a photo of the big event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.