Nepali lizzie

When I was in Nepal in 1990 I collected seed of a wonderful little Impatiens species, a little yellow Busy Lizzie.

It flowered in my garden the following year but unfortunately the plants died and no seedlings appeared the next year.

Several years ago I acquired seed from a friend who had acquired seed from a friend who had collected the same species in Nepal more recently, and here it is. It's naturalised around my own garden where I've been testing it and next year will release it into Arduaine. remember - you heard about it here first, just in case it takes over the country!

I don't think it's likely as it seems to be an annual and never survives the winter. It seed gently around in the gravel mostly, and looks to be quite trustworthy! I haven't managed to identify it yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.