Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Colzium Walled Garden

Sunday started bright and sunny but that didn't last. By early afternoon it was cloudy and by mid-afternoon it was raining quite heavily. This rain continued into the evening, making summer seem a forgotten memory.

Of course, I was otherwise occupied during the better part of Sunday's weather - at church in the morning and then volunteering at our own church's 'open to the public afternoon' in the afternoon (of course!)

By the time we locked up, the rain had become well-established and I still had my daily blip to take. Having photographed the interior of the church last Sunday, I thought another subject ought to feature today. The weather was not particularly appealing but, as it was more persistent and steady drizzle than a torrential downpour by this point, I reckoned that I could just about manage a short walk round the Walled Garden at the nearby Colzium Estate in Kilsyth.

Despite the rain and the fact that the gardens were different shades of green, rather than a multi-coloured floral extravaganza, they were in really good condition and a tribute to the Parks Department (or whatever they're called these days) of North Lanarkshire Council. Indeed I had a very pleasant wander (all things considered) along the glen, where the waterfalls of the Colzium Burn were in full flow, and then around the gardens. Oh, and I got my daily blip. Job done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.