Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

House of The Binns

Monday was a damp and dreich day but I was determined not to succumb to cabin fever and make an effort to go somewhere out of the house. After a morning spent catching up with emails and 'paperwork' (my Mondays are usually spent in front of the computer) I hummed and hawed about where to go. Browsed the National Trust for Scotland and Historic Scotland websites and settled for the House of The Binns, since it's only a relatively short drive (around 30 minutes) from where I live.

Didn't have any intention of visiting the grand house itself but thought I'd settle for a wander round the estate, under the cover of an umbrella. Things did not go according to plan, however.

The waymarked walk started well enough - good views over towards Blackness Castle and the River Forth and then through the woodland up to the Tower, which is enclosed by a metal fence and gate. The gusty wind at this point made the umbrella somewhat useless, but the rain was more persistent drizzle than anything else so not too bad. The walk continued eastwards across the ridge of a field, past a solitary tree, then towards a fence and more woodland beyond.

As I walked across the ridge I was aware of cows in the field below and to my right, but they were several hundred metres away and seemingly not interested in my progress. On reaching the fence (I had walked about 200 metres from the Tower) the path looked quite muddy and I decided just to retrace my steps and make my way back up the hill to the Tower and down to the House. At this point I noticed that some of the cows were now facing my direction and walking towards me. Not a problem: they were still some distance away and I was walking away (well, more or less perpendicular) from them. However I was still 120 metres or so from the Tower. Then some of the cows broke into a trot and headed up the hill to where I was walking. They were joined by other cows and, as their numbers grew, so did their speed. At this point I was quite frightened as I had nowhere to go, short of trying to shelter behind the solitary tree. Anyway, a stampede of around 20 beasts rushed past me about 20-30 metres away and turned to look as I walked as briskly as I could across the field and up towards the tower and the safety of the enclosed fence. As I reached the gate and sat down on the bench at the Tower to catch my breath and composure, this breakaway group of cows turned and ran just as quickly back down the hill towards the rest of the herd.

It was a frightening experience. I have no idea what caused the cows to stampede but I know that if I'd been caught in the middle of them I would have been seriously injured at least. After a few moments to allow my heart-beat to return to something like normal - and a quick check to ensure I had no bovine company - I made my way back to the House of The Binns to report the matter. There was a guided tour of the House just starting, so I joined that (free for NTS members) and, by the time it was finished, I had just about calmed down enough to drive home.

In fact it was a very interesting and enjoyable tour; just not one that had been on my wish-list when I left the house earlier on Monday afternoon.

I'm planning a roast beef dinner some time soon. It's small consolation but this is one dish of revenge that won't be served cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.