Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Saturated Sunday

The sunshine and dry weather of Saturday soon gave way to almost continuous rain for most of the day.  Undeterred, bucksmiss and I went along to an unusually packed neighbouring church for the Sunday morning service.  It turned out to be a celebration of not one but three special occasions.  Firstly, there was a patronal festival, then a little girl called Sia was baptised (her extended family filled an entire block of pews!), and finally the church's 100-year-old World War I Roll of Honour was re-dedicated, having been beautifully restored.

Later, we had a delicious lunch at a pub near to where bucksmiss lives.  After a very tasty roast chicken dish, I couldn't resist clearing up an Eton Mess - naughty, but in my world treats like this are permitted on Sundays if required ;-)

After a post-lunch cup of coffee bucksmiss and I said our goodbyes, and I had an easy and relaxed drive back home to south Bucks in time to get ready for a visit to Mum for a few days.

It's been a lovely weekend in very good company - many thanks to bucksmiss for inviting me to stay :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.