Oh my heart

Tuesday started off pretty rocky for me.  I received a morning text from a friend letting me know that my retired boss, who meant so very much to me, had passed away.  It was news I'd been expecting, but still came too soon.  I stared at my phone for awhile....and when I told Sugar....I cried.  I had to pull myself together to make a call to another dear friend whom I had promised to call when I got the news.  She didn't want to find out by reading it in the paper.  I walked in my pajamas to the top of a little hill in the field, and called.  She cried so hard....she couldn't talk.  We said, "I love you!" and hung up.  I sat down in the grass, and just cried and cried.  He will be missed....this man who was such a wonderful supporter of me and my life.  He blessed me more than I can express.  My life would not have been the same without him.  

Sugar came looking for me, and I pulled myself together.  I ended up spending the majority of the day alone.  I read in my tent, and just let my emotions ride.  I could hear the happy squeals coming up from the river, and I was glad that Sugar had plenty of other campers to fill her heart with joy.  

At some point in the day, Sugar invited me to the wooded area to see the things she had been making.  This moss heart spoke to me.  While this news was not the BEST part of my camping trip....it will certainly be the most remembered.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.