Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Me, Myself and I - De La Soul

I'm really rushed today as we have to get down to Kelso for a Mothers day lunch with Maddy, Roz, Roz's Mum and her Granny (my mum lives down south). I'm not sure what time we'll get home so I had to do my blip first thing and I only had about 20 minutes to do it in.

anyway, aside from not rushing the Photoshop bit (there's probably professional Photoshop users cringing when they see this), the other lesson that has been learned is not to do self portraits before I've had th ecoffee and shower required to wake me up properly.

The result is some very sketchy Photoshop work. I should mayb ehave cheated and did this shot on a day when I had more time, but that woul dbe against the spirit of the song title challenge.

Anyway this track came out when I was 15 or 16, and at the time I was really into rap, especially stuff like Public Enemy, BDP, and NWA. De La Soul were a refreshing change to all of that. More melodic than other rap acts at the time and with the first Rap concept album. I have to say I never got any later albums by them, I kind of went off Rap a bit by about 1991 as some of the original spirit of it seemed to get watered down a bit. Later stuff I did like included The Goats, who I think were influenced by De La Soul to a degree and Dr Octagon, who probably wasn't. I'll also hold my hand up and admit to liking Eminem, I'm probably way to old to be listening to him now, but the humour get's me every time.

Ooops, almost forgot ot put the video in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.