South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Admission

I admit I am enjoying watching "Games Done Quick" via the Twitch channel. I told Paul he could stream it onto our TV via his iPad (we only have one TV). And I am pretty hooked! The speed run of "Rayman" was absolutely amazing (a game Paul used to play many years ago, but couldn't get very far on as it's so incredibly difficult). Just adding in...and it's all done in aid of Medecins Sans Frontieres. 269,000 dollars have already been raised for this great cause.

Years ago, when Paul was six, we bought him a Sega Mastersystem. He refused to play it himself as he didn't like failing at it, so for a number of months I played it for him - a real crash course in learning at the age of 40! After watching me for months, he decided it was time for him to play - and at the age of seven was instantly better at it than me, very discouraging! Over the years we have had Megadrives, Dreamcasts, Playstations, X Boxes etc., most of which have conked out! I especially enjoyed the Megadrives, because it was 2D platformers like Sonic which I could semi-play, but never as well as Paul could! Then, when the 3D platformers came along, that was me finished! I would have needed to spend hours honing my co-ordination skills - and that took any fun out of it as far as I was concerned. Younger people can just seem to manage it straight away. So I was reduced to watching Paul play them.

So, now you know my secret - I love watching platformer games :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.