South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Eco friendly car?

This little car was parked in a side street in Worthing this morning!

I had to take Paul to an appointment and the intention was to do a couple of errands while he was there. However, when I tried to lock our car the central locking didn't work when I pressed my key. (This has happened once before a couple of months ago). So I had to stay with the car - fortunately it has a button inside where you can lock all the doors, or I would have felt a bit unsafe. I had my Kindle with me, so sat and finished reading my Secrets and Shadows book. It was a bit weird, because one of the characters was probably dying of widespread cancer, and we heard yesterday that a lady who used to come to our church (moved away) has the same condition and may not have long to live. She has two children a bit younger than our son. They have made their own lives, but the daughter is apparently coming to look after her. What a difficult time for them all.[

There was apparently a lot of flooding in Worthing this morning due to the deluge of rain and hail that accompanied thunderstorms. The flooded underpass to the station was shown on Sky News and looked very dramatic. Somebody told me that it often floods though! I was awake at 6am and could hear rumbling noises - I thought it was people putting their dustbins out as it was bin day! Soon found out it was storms, so little more sleep was had. Thankfully the rain had stopped by 10 am so we had an uneventful drive into Worthing apart from seeing a fire engine with the sirens going - possibly heading to the flooded station....

After a chilly grey morning the sun is out and I didn't need the coat I wore down to the shops as it was warm and humid again. More heavy rain is forecast this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.