Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Six-Spot

As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, the Burnet moths that I've come across this summer have all been 5-Spot. Today I finally laid eyes on a 6-spot, on my local patch of Baildon Moor.

I just managed to fit in my 15 minutes for the Big Butterfly Count before the rain arrived from the south. Small Skippers are now on the ascendence from Large Skippers, Ringlets are probably past their peak, the summer Small Tortoiseshells are in full flow and it was good to see a Green-Veined White, another species which I've found elusive this year.

For the record:

Ringlet: 22
Small Skipper: 15
Meadow Brown: 8
Small Tortoisehell: 7
Large Skipper: 2
Small Heath: 2
Six-spot Burnet: 1
Narrow-borded Five-spot Burnet: 1
Green-veined White: 1

After dark I had Phoenix, Muslin Footman and Green Carpet visit the study window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.