Ravers, she says???

Four of us, with a combined age of 268yrs, and she calls us ''Ravers''. Methinks there may be a touch of mild sarcasm afoot here.

16/07/17. Now we are 3 with a combined age of 210.
:¬(

I have been, variously,
trainee teacher, 3 shades of Lab Tech/Analyst, covering a total of 9yrs, Fireman for 23+yrs, jeweller for 13yrs and retired for 4. 
Now 11yrs.

When we moved in to the small local Jeweller's shop in 1995 ''The man'' was still a Teacher, I was still a Fireman, Gaffer was a Care worker and Clicky had finally settled into Retail in her own emporium.

As a consequence of our diverse occupations we seldom met as a group.
It was decided to meet in a local hostelry, on a fortnightly basis, with a view to keeping one another abreast of proceedings etc. in the shop.

We have been going there now for 17yrs and always ''Run up a tab'' as being easier than paying per round. 
It's NOW 22 yrs.

Went for the bill tonight and there was a new staff member on: so, of course, for reasons I need not go into I told the lad how long we had been meeting there ...
''........and we've been coming here since 1995.......''
''Oh'', says he, ''I was two then, I thought I recognised Mr. Man, he used to teach me.

makes one feel right bloody ancient, dunnit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.