Of collars and combs

Raspberry was the recipient of a lovely package from her blipfriend Anne, earlier in the week. I promised to photograph her wearing one of her new festive handcrafted collars this week. Today seemed like a good pick.  Alas, she was busy with a new project this morning trying to open the bathroom wastebasket which has a foot lever. I heard the banging and watched her work until she gave up. She is fascinated with things that she knows can be opened by humans, it's just a bit harder for catgirls like her with no thumbs, but she never gives up. She works hard on the Brita water pitcher, a small food processor cover and the cabinet under the TV. She has mastered the push and pull of the glass doors there and is quite smug about it. Her worst hobby(other than food thievery) is rattling of paintings and picture frames hung where she can get at them. Our theory is that she thinks they are doors to places we have not let her explore(like our cellar, that and it's crawlspaces, where she is strictly forbidden). So, when she was finished with her project I suspected she might be in the mood to pose. She was.

Doesn't she look swell all decked out? The purple massage brush is also a huge hit and removes gobs of hair. She sheds more than any feline I have ever know. Thank you Anne, she and we are thrilled. I also got some handcrafted funky and quirky dangling earrings from Anne. I'm going to liven up my outfit for my niece's upcoming wedding in late August by adding them as the finishing touches. They are just what I needed ! Many thanks to Anne. 

At this very moment she is working on 'opening' painting and crying...

For the Record,
This day came in too hot and humid to even mention, the worst weather, ugh.

All hands healthy

My extra photo today was taken by my great grandfather. Our house was once the middle of three cape style homes. The house on the right is gone as well as our barn and outbuildings. I remember the barn in terrible shape about 57 years ago before it collapsed. There were carriages and a sleigh suspended from the ceiling with huge ropes and block & tackle. I could only have one peek, it was too dangerous, but so fascinating. 

My great grandfather was an avid and skilled photographer. I have many of his glass negatives and his huge Brownie Box camera is at the house in Machiasport. Many of the local postcards in those days were made from his images. My great Aunt Abbie and her sister Ruth can be seen playing in the side yard. My brother and I inherited the house from my mother. Aunt Abbie left it to my mother in 1989. Abbie died there at 97, still managing quite well all alone. We have had a lot of renovations done under the direction of my brother. The house is in great shape to pass down to the next generation. It was literally buried in snow last winter, but it made it through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.