MR X

As soon as I saw this fly, I wondered if I could identify him or her.
I found him/her rather special. But looking in my guidebook with perhaps over 100 drawings, and looking again and again. I had to give up.
There were some that I thought could be the right ones, perhaps not.
Why oh why are there so many kinds of flies?
When I was young I knew at least two kinds, I think. A big one and a smaller one.
And the one that could sting severely. And the same with bees, or wasps.
I worked today a bit on my herbs. Put little wooden sticks with their name on it in the earth. That looks so much better.
I want to get a plant of the Ruta graveolens because the caterpillars of the swallowtail are attracted to these, I read.
We had this evening a long, lovely, skype converation with Mischa. That does us all so good.

My haiku:

Your wings remind me
Of a skirt with pretty colours
I loved to dance in

And the proverb:

To dance Barnaby.

(= to dance to a quick movement, move expeditiously)

1664 Cotton, Scarron  15.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.