Hanullis

By Hanulli

Black Beauty

The Buddleia is abloom. A good time to blip butterflies, but they stayed far above. So I took a chair (blippers :-)  ) to get a bit closer. And then this giant black bee appeard very far above. I never saw anything like that. It was bigger than a bummblebee, aproximately 2,5 cm (that sounds smal) and even the wings were black. He/she/it was blotched with pollen. And if you look, you can see a fly sitting on its left wing. (The fly stayed for a long time) I found it so amazing and I learned later that it was a Carpenter-Bee  or "Xylocopa".
I found it well worth, standing on a chair in the garden, rising the camera as high as possible waiting for the black bee to come out of the shadow while getting a heavy neck pain :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.